The Exquando Transformation Wheel

There are lots of tools and methodologies for helping transformation but, as everyone knows, it is people who drive it. This wheel illustrates the key human factors needed for successful transformation.

The mission statement is at the core of any successful transformation. In Information Management this mission is rooted on “everyone should have access to reliable and relevant information so the right decisions can be taken”.

A clan must then gather around this mission. A group of stakeholders that represent everyone and create a collective drive for progress. Typically, it includes people from higher management, business, IT and users.

This clan has to make a pact around the mission. This pact must answer the governance question of “how do we do it?”. The first answer is “together” but then it must define the choice of organisation and mode of operation to ensure success. Thanks to the pact the clan becomes tribal: a clan where everyone is connected and knows what is expected of each other. It is a clan that works as a whole.

Values bind this clan to the pact and the most important value is transparency. It leaves no room for hidden agendas. Other values such as positivism, honesty, dependability, and commitment will help knit the clan together.

Trust develops within this clan and trust frees expression and creativity. There is no resignation or disengagement but instead assertiveness and personal responsibility.

Trust fosters Exchange and exchange is the foundation of collective intelligence. Ideas can be debated and challenged openly to nurture creativity.

Exchange and this collective intelligence lead to Better Decisions. In Information Management, good decisions clarify the People, Processes and Technologies clusters around the Content. In Information Governance, they lead to information policies that reinforce data ownership.

"This process creates trust that leads to progress"

Good decisions generate progress. You cannot determine ahead of time the level of progress but this process underpinned by trust will speed it up.

What about you? Are you in charge of a transformation programme?

Are the following questions enlightening in your situation?

  • Is the mission clear?
  • Is the clan complete?
  • Is the pact agreed on?
  • Are the values shared and transparent?
  • Is there trust within the clan?
  • Is the exchange free and fruitful?
  • Are you making good decisions together?
  • Are you seeing progress?
LinkedIn Facebook

We do not collect personal data via this website. Every data provided to us through the contact forms of this website is used to facilitate routine contact and operational work.
Data is held securely and is subject to access controls.
For any question related to our Data Protection Policies and process, please contact us at

The Exquando Transformation Wheel

Si pour la transformation digitale on dispose d’une panoplie d’outils et de méthodes, pour la transformation des organisations qui la vivent, il est d’abord question d’hommes et de femmes.  La roue ci-dessous illustre quelques-uns des enjeux de cette transformation humaine.

Au départ de toute transformation réussie, il y a une mission ou une ambition. Dans nos métiers de la gestion d’information, la mission ressemble souvent à “que chacun puisse disposer d’une information fiable et pertinente pour que les bonnes décisions soient prises et que le projet soit réalisé dans le budget et le planning”.  

Autour de cette mission doit se former un clan.  Dans nos métiers de la gestion d’information on retrouve tous ceux qui ont un pouvoir ou un intérêt par rapport à l’information en jeu - typiquement des représentants du business, de l’IT ainsi que des utilisateurs des systèmes et de l’information concernés.  

Ce clan doit passer un pacte à propos de la mission.  Ce pacte est une gouvernance dans le sens où il répond à la question “comment fait-on ?”.  La réponse est d’abord “ensemble - c’est tout” puis il faut faire le choix d’une organisation et d’un mode de fonctionnement qui permettront de réussir la mission.  Avec le pacte, le clan devient tribal, c’est à présent un clan où chacun est connecté aux autres et sait qu’il a besoin des autres, c’est un clan qui fonctionne dorénavant comme un tout.  

Ce qui va souder ce pacte au clan, ce sont des valeurs.  Dans nos métiers de la gestion d’information, la transparence est la base, il n’y a pas de place ici pour les agendas cachés.  D’autres valeurs importantes sont le progrès, le sens de l’amélioration, la recherche d’un win-win.

Quand un clan est soudé à un pacte par des valeurs, il va s’y développer de la confiance, véritable oxygène du lien social.  La confiance libère l’expression et la créativité.  Il n’y a plus de résignation ni de désengagement, mais bien de l’assertivité et de la responsabilité personnelle.   

La confiance remplace le couple instruction-contrôle par l’échange qui sera à la base de l’intelligence collective et de l’organisation apprenante.   

C’est cet échange qui va permettre que les meilleures décisions soient prises.  En gestion de l’information, les bonnes décisions qui naissent de l’échange concernent la clarification des clusters People-Process-Technology autour de contenus donnés et la mise en place d’une information policy qui va mettre en oeuvre le data ownership.

Le progrès va découler naturellement suite à ces meilleures décisions.  Il n’est pas définissable à l’avance, le progrès est la conséquence d’un processus de création de confiance dans le champ d’une mission.

Et vous, êtes-vous en charge d’un programme de transformation ?  Les questions suivantes sont-elles éclairantes dans votre contexte ?

  • la mission est-elle bien définie ?

  • le clan est-il au complet ; a-t-il été célébré ?

  • le pacte est-il clair pour tous ?

  • les valeurs sont-elles bien communiquées et partagées ?

  • la confiance entre les membres du clan est-elle au rendez-vous ?

  • l’échange est-il libre et fructueux ?

  • a-t-on le sentiment de prendre ensemble les bonnes décisions ?

  • voit-on le progrès venir ?

LinkedIn Facebook

We do not collect personal data via this website. Every data provided to us through the contact forms of this website is used to facilitate routine contact and operational work.
Data is held securely and is subject to access controls.
For any question related to our Data Protection Policies and process, please contact us at contact@exquando.com

Fermer