Information governance: time to jump in

In the footsteps of the 9th Serda report, the GouvInfo IAI association has published its 3rd Océan Bleu. A clear reference to the strategic approach of the same name, the title of this report indicates upfront that it is not just tackling the problems but most of all new opportunities to be seized. Unlike the Serda report which focuses more on a statistical approach aimed at reflecting the situation of information governance in organizations - based on figures from their annual survey - the Océan Bleu of GouvInfo gives the opportunity to 14 information professionals to present their experience and to share a more personal vision of their discipline; reading through this report therefore provides us with a helicopter view on issues such as digital transformation, Cloud computing, data protection or the value of information. 

This intrinsic value of information is indeed highlighted in several contributions. In their introduction, the organizers of the report (François-Benjamin Remazeilles, Jean-Pascal Perrein et Lionel Husson) note that most companies respond only to regulations in force when designing their information management policy, the sole objective being to protect themselves from legal trouble. Why not envisage instead an information governance approach which would extract the real value of this information? Isabelle Wattiau, full professor at ESSEC Business School, confirms: “Information governance is based on a fundamental principle: considering information as an asset to be managed in the same way as real estate or human resources. Therefore, a manager’s training must integrate the skills allowing him/her to grasp what information is and what must be implemented to manage it as a strategic asset”. She also regrets that no institution currently offers a sufficiently comprehensive training in information governance. 

As mentioned earlier, this report invites us to look at the big picture to better understand, in all of its complexity, the discipline of information governance. Several contributions also call on professionals to adopt a global perspective when engaging in information governance projects for their organizations, in order, among other things, to promote transversality. Sabrina Menasria suggests, for example, to adopt an “agnostic” vision of information through departments. According to her, the implementation of an information governance allows “silos” and organisational misalignments caused by poor information flow to disappear. The ultimate objective of this transversality, (re)gained by among other things removing intermediaries - what she calls “uberizing” the organization - is that each staff member has easy access to reliable information. 

In terms of software infrastructure, it is constantly emphasized that the selection of an IT tool must be preceded by an in-depth analysis of work processes and human aspects, and not the other way around. Christophe Binot, in charge of information governance at Total Global Services, says nothing else when he states that it is necessary to have “the widest possible vision, which will apply to paper as well as digital information, and which will be technology agnostic”.

In other words: “Digitalizing is not transforming”, as quite rightly says Sabrin Menasria.

The 3rd Océan Bleu report can be downloaded from the GouvInfo website

LinkedIn Facebook

We do not collect personal data via this website. Every data provided to us through the contact forms of this website is used to facilitate routine contact and operational work.
Data is held securely and is subject to access controls.
For any question related to our Data Protection Policies and process, please contact us at

Gouvernance de l'information : il est temps de se jeter à l'eau

Dans la foulée du 9e rapport Serda, l’association GouvInfo IAI publie de son côté son 3e Océan Bleu. Référence manifeste à l’approche stratégique du même nom, le titre de ce rapport nous indique immédiatement qu’ici on ne parlera pas seulement de problèmes, mais surtout de nouvelles opportunités à saisir. Contrairement au rapport Serda qui se focalise plutôt sur une approche statistique visant à refléter la situation de la gouvernance de l’information dans les entreprises – à partir des chiffres de leur enquête annuelle – l’Océan Bleu de GouvInfo offre à une quinzaine de professionnels de l’information une tribune leur permettant de témoigner de leur expérience et de partager une vision plus personnelle de leur discipline ; la lecture de ce recueil nous invite de ce fait à prendre de la hauteur sur des questions telles que la transformation digitale, le Cloud, la protection des données ou encore la valeur de l’information.

Cette valeur intrinsèque de l’information est d’ailleurs mise en avant dans plusieurs contributions. Dans leur préface, les organisateurs du rapport (François-Benjamin Remazeilles, Jean-Pascal Perrein et Lionel Husson) remarquent que la plupart des entreprises conçoivent la gestion de leur information uniquement en réponse aux réglementations en vigueur. Cette approche « défensive » de la gouvernance de l’information n’a dès lors pour seul effet que de les préserver de tout ennui juridique. Pourquoi ne pas envisager à la place une gouvernance de l’information visant à extraire la valeur bien réelle de toute cette information ? Isabelle Wattiau, professeure titulaire à l’ESSEC Business School, abonde d’ailleurs dans leur sens : « La gouvernance de l’information est fondée sur un principe fondamental : considérer l’information comme un actif à gérer au même titre que le patrimoine immobilier ou encore les ressources humaines. Dès lors, la formation d’un manager doit intégrer les compétences lui permettant d’appréhender ce qu’est l’information et ce qu’il faut mettre en œuvre pour la gérer comme un actif stratégique ». Et de déplorer ensuite qu’aucun établissement n’offre à ce jour une formation suffisamment complète en matière de gouvernance de l’information.

On l’a dit : ce rapport nous invite à prendre de la hauteur pour mieux appréhender, dans toute sa complexité, cette discipline qu’est la gouvernance de l’information. Plusieurs contributions appellent également les professionnels à envisager les projets de gouvernance de l’information dans leur entreprise en prenant ici aussi de la hauteur, entre autres afin de favoriser la transversalité. Sabrina Menasria propose par exemple d’adopter une vision de l’information « agnostique » du cadre organisationnel de l’entreprise. La mise en place d’une gouvernance de l’information permet selon elle la disparition des « silos » et la suppression des déséquilibres organisationnels créés par la mauvaise circulation de l’information. Cette transversalité, (re)trouvée notamment en supprimant les intermédiaires – ce qu’elle appelle « ubériser » l’organisation – a pour objectif ultime que chaque collaborateur puisse disposer d’un accès facilité à une information fiable.

En matière d’infrastructure logicielle, on ne cesse d'insister sur le fait que le choix d’un outil informatique doit être conditionné par une analyse approfondie des processus de travail et des aspects humains, et non l’inverse. Christophe Binot, responsable de la gouvernance de l’information chez Total Global Services, ne dit pas autre chose lorsqu’il avance qu’il faut disposer « d’une vision la plus large possible, qui va s’appliquer aussi bien à l’information papier que numérique, et qui est agnostique par rapport aux technologiques ».  

En d’autres mots : « Digitaliser n’est pas transformer », comme le dit très justement Sabrina Menasria.

Le 3e rapport Océan Bleu peut être téléchargé sur le site de GouvInfo 

LinkedIn Facebook

We do not collect personal data via this website. Every data provided to us through the contact forms of this website is used to facilitate routine contact and operational work.
Data is held securely and is subject to access controls.
For any question related to our Data Protection Policies and process, please contact us at contact@exquando.com

Fermer